NCDD Sessions and Seminars

Gideon Behind the Wheel III: The Basics of Defending a DUI Case

August 22, 2024

A Webinar providing up to 5 hours of CLE credit offered free to Public Defenders nationwide and NCDD members

Because this Webinar is presented free of charge as a benefit to NCDD members, CLE forms will be provided to attendees. Attendees desiring CLE credit are responsible for filing the form with their State Bar and paying any costs charged by their State Bar, if applicable.

When: Thursday, August 22, 2024 8:00 AM PDT / 9:00 AM MDT / 10:00 AM CDT / 11:00 AM EDT

Agenda (all times listed are Pacific Daylight Time)

Time (PST)Event DescriptionGuest Speaker
8:00AM – 8:10AMWelcome and Introductory RemarksDelton F. Caraway, Canandaigua, New York
Lisa A. Saltzman, Forest Hills, New York
Joseph P. St. Louis, Tucson, Arizona
8:10AM – 9:10AMTheme and Theory in Opening Statements: Turning Your Case Into a Winning StoryZaki Zehawi, Madison, Wisconsin
9:10AM – 10:10AM¿Que Dice? Representing Non-English Speaking Clients in DUI CasesJean Marie Hazelton, Southampton, New York
10:10AM – 10:20AMBreak
10:20AM – 11:20AMNothing But a Lot of Hot Air: Challenging Breath Test EvidenceJuanita Kimble, Atlanta, Georgia
11:20AM – 11:50AMLunch Break
11:50AM – 12:50PMBlood Simple: An Introduction to Blood TestingTravis McGivern, Tucson, Arizona
12:50PM – 1:50PMMaking the Lab Follow Its Own Rules: Using Consensus Standards in Your CaseJanine Arvizu, CQA, Albuquerque, New Mexico
1:50PM – 2:00PMClosing Remarks

FIND AN ATTORNEY

Enter your city, state, or Zip code below to locate a qualified attorney who has demonstrated a commitment to defend those accused of DUI and related crimes.

FIND AN ATTORNEY

FROM OUR BLOG

Pesky Lab Results Hindering Your Defense?

07/15/2024

By Karleigh Miller Many drunk driving cases involve a chemical test indicating what substance the government believes you are impaired by. The government utilizes testing devices to analyze and quantify the alleged substance or substances in the blood. The government then can utilize the result in Trial against you. In Trial, the government may admit the test results in through the...

Autonomous Vehicles

03/04/2024

By Lance Hendron A couple of months ago, I presented an NCDD webinar highlighting the current state of automatous driving. Since the webinar, there have been recent updates concerning the evolution of automatous driving. Probably the most significant update concerns Telsa's recall of two million vehicles considering serious concerns about its autonomous driving features. Per reports, "numerous reported cases reveal shortcomings in...

Back to Top